Fonterra Food Services
resources : Catering for Dietary Needs
Vegeterian Diet Type
Fonterra products suitable for Semi-vegetarian, Lacto-ovo-vegetarian and Lacto-vegetarians.
Vegetarian Diets
What is a vegetarian diet?
A vegetarian diet is principally a diet based on plant foods. A vegetarian diet consists of grains, legumes (dried beans and peas), nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits and may or may not include dairy foods, like milk, cheese, yoghurt, and eggs. This type of diet may also be known as a "plant-based diet”.
People are on this diet for a variety of reasons including animal welfare, religious beliefs, cultural practices, health, environment, economic concerns and even psychological reasons.
Types of Vegetarian diets and what food groups are included or avoided
There are many different types of vegetarian diets differing in what is included and what is avoided. The types of vegetarian diets are:
• Semi-vegetarian diets don't include red meat but occasionally will incorporate poultry and fish
• Lacto-ovo-vegetarian diet includes plant foods, dairy products and eggs (although possibly only free-range eggs) along with all plant foods, such as grains, legumes, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits. This is the most common type of vegetarian diet
• Vegan or ‘total’ vegetarian diet includes only plant foods: grains, legumes, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits. This diet completely excludes any products from animal origin including dairy foods, eggs, honey, and animal sources of gelatine and rennet
• Lacto-vegetarian diet includes plant foods plus dairy products (milk, cheese, yoghurt) – but excludes eggs
• Ovo-vegetarian diet includes eggs but avoids dairy products, meat, poultry, fish and seafood
• Macrobiotic diet includes mostly grains up to 60 per cent of the diet, sea vegetables and Asian condiments, beans in smaller amounts and moderate amounts of fruits, nuts, seeds and breads. Meat, dairy foods and eggs are excluded, but fish may be included
Cheese and a vegetarian diet
Rennet is an enzyme added to milk to form the curd during the cheese making process. Rennet can be derived from animal or non-animal sources such as yeasts or fungi, and is usually labelled on the pack. Fonterra cheese products are clearly labelled as suitable for vegetarians when they contain rennet from a non-animal source.

What Fonterra products are suitable for vegetarians?
Semi-vegetarian, Lacto-ovo vegetarian and Lacto-vegetarian diets can include all milk and yoghurt products made by Fonterra and generally only those cheese varieties which use non-animal sourced rennet.
Click the link below to download this list in PDF format.
pdf file Fonterra products suitable for Semi-vegetarian, Lacto-ovo-vegetarian and Lacto-vegetarians.
 
Helpful Links for further information
For more information about which foods and beverages can be eaten, refer to the Dietitians Association of Australia website via the following link to view an information sheet titled
“Vegetarian Diets”

page footer